top of page

Cadet Medals of Merit

The Army Cadet program recognizes and rewards the service of youth in many ways. 

At the local headquarters level, the yearly accomplishments of our cadets are recognized through trophies awarded at the end of the training year at our Annual Ceremonial Review. Cadets may also apply for and be recognized for their hard work and dedication by the medals shown below.

Army Cadet Service Medal

To qualify for this award, a serving cadet must have successfully completed four years of honourable service with no serious infractions, and be recommended by the Cadet Corps Commanding Officer.

Furthermore, eligible service is transferable between army cadet corps. Army Cadets are also eligible to receive a bar for the Army Cadet Service Medal for each year of service completed beyond the four-year qualifying period.

Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence

The Royal Canadian Legion (RCL) Cadet Medal of Excellence is awarded in recognition for individual endeavours in citizenship that meet or enhance the aims and objectives of the cadet movement.

Cadets must:

  1. met all requirements of the corps/sqn annual mandatory and optional training programs;

  2. participated in a minimum of three community service events, in addition to those supported by the cadet corps/sqn;

  3. regarded by peers and superiors as exemplifying the model cadet; and

  4. enhanced the cadet corps/sqn through:
    (1) co-operation with peers and subordinates,
    (2) comradeship,
    (3) promoting goodwill and morale within the corps/sqn,
    (4) aiding in the development of group identity and cohesiveness,
    (5) supporting and assisting fellow unit members, and
    (6) his/her involvement in the local community.

Lord Strathcona Medal

The Lord Strathcona Medal (LSM) is the highest Award which can be bestowed upon a Cadet in recognition of exemplary performance in physical and military training.

The Medal and the accompanying Certificate of Merit are awarded by the Lord Strathcona Trust. The issue and wearing of the LSM is authorized by the Chief of the Defence Staff. Each Air Cadet Squadron may award one Medal in each training year, but the award of the Medal is to be based solely on the availability of a worthy candidate. Awarding the LSM annually is not mandatory and should not be a matter of custom for a particular appointment or by seniority alone. The Squadron Commanding Officer determines whether a LSM should be awarded each year, but he is encouraged to seek the recommendations of the Squadron Sponsoring Committee. The LSM is provided through the Area Cadet Officer, and is presented by the Reviewing Officer at the corps’ annual ceremonial review.


The Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada (ANAVETS), has a legacy to its desire to promote excellence and awareness of the Canadian Cadet Organization (CCO), has established the ANAVETS Cadet Medal of Merit).


One medal will be awarded to the top cadet, male or female for each summer training course at each Cadet Training Centre even if the cadet has already received the ANAVETS Cadet Medal of Merit for another course.

Order of St. George Medal

The Order of St. George honours Staff Cadets who distinguish themselves in their exemplary contribution at a CTC during the summer training period.


To be eligible for consideration, a cadet must meet all requirements of the CTC summer training program, be regarded by peers and superiors as exemplifying the model cadet, be a member in good standing of one of the three cadet organizations, have demonstrated outstanding leadership and compassion for subordinates. Was able, through different leadership techniques to motivate subordinates to do what was required. The individual must also have completed three years as a cadet, participated in community service events that the CTC promotes during the summer, demonstrated leadership qualities, and demonstrated instructional abilities.

Major-General W.A. Howard Award

The Major-General W.A. Howard Award recognizes cadets who complete Gold Star training with exceptional results and who demonstrate significant dedication and leadership qualities.

Cadets must:

  1. ​Demonstrate leadership and comportment of the finest kind;

  2. Be judged to have a successful balance of cadet and civilian accomplishments;

  3. Have scored within the top two cadets in the Province or Territory Gold Star training in the preceding year; and

  4. Have served a minimum of three years as an Army Cadet.

Walsh Memorial Sword

The Walsh Memorial Sword recognizes one outstanding Army Cadet from across Canada per training year.

Cadets Must:

  1. Be a recipient of the Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence;

  2. Be a serving Army Cadet on the date of the nomination;

  3. Be in a position to continue to serve as a member of the Royal Canadian Army Cadets until June 1st of the proceeding award year;

  4. Be Master Cadet qualified;

  5. Have demonstrated outstanding loyalty to his/her Cadet Corps and the Royal Canadian Army Cadets;

  6. Be regarded as an excellent ambassador of the Royal Canadian Army Cadet program;

  7. Be a recipient of the Branch President’s Trophy, in accordance with ACLC Policy 13.19; and

  8. Have successfully completed an Advanced Training Summer Course or have participated in a national level Nationally Directed Activity.

Colonal Robert Perron Award

The Colonel Robert Perron Award for Excellence in Physical Fitness is a national award presented annually to the top male and female cadets who demonstrate the best physical fitness.

Cadets Must:

  1. Be 15 years of age or older

  2. Voluntarily undergo the physical fitness test and apply for the Perron Award

Cadet Award for Bravery

The Cadet Award for Bravery may be awarded to a cadet who performs an outstanding deed of valour involving risk of life in attempting to save the life or property of others.

bottom of page